Sunflower Man – Matt Miller

Ish Holmes —  January 29, 2013 — 1 Comment

ISH_6924

I had the opportunity to sit down with the amazing fashion illustrator Matthew Miller, aka Sunflowerman, to gain some insight on his work and process.  We decided to link up at Condessa Coffee, where much of his work is displayed, to sit, talk, paint, and of course, drink coffee.

Take a look at some of his artwork below, followed by a brief interview.

ISH_6968

ISH_6969

ISH_6970

ISH_6979

ISH_6986

ISH_6976

ISH_6977

So, what got you started in art?

I know its cliche, but I’ve ALWAYS been drawing. I feel as if I was born to do it. I never really had a choice.

How would you describe your work?

I said something really nice one time, what was it? I think it was, “An ecclectic assault on common place.” Yeah, I think that’s it.

What sort of materials do you use?

I’m a fan of recycled materials….book pages, leftover fabric, whatever.  I really like to “redeem” things. I also use Dr. Ph Martin’s Bombay India Ink and some round, synthetic brushes.

Can you name 3 of your favorite artists/inspirations?

Caravaggio, Alphonse Mucha, and David Downton. That’s a guy from the Baroque period, one from Art Noveau, and a new school guy that does fashion illustrations.

Where do you see yourself and your art in the next 5 years?

Uh, I’m just going to keep doing men’s fashion illustrations. I’d love to do advertising work for some big brands.

Why men’s fashion specifically?

Well, almost nobody really does just men’s fashion, so I see an opportunity there.  Besides that, I wear it and identify with it, and I can express my own identity of fashion without really having to buy all of those expensive clothes.

Where can we see more of your work?

On my website, www.sunflowerman.com. And my stuff is featured in Condessa Coffee, H. Stockton, and Q Clothier.

Ish Holmes

Posts

Dream Advocate + Creativepreneur + Pizza Fanatic + Neo Soul || Blog Launches June 1st http://www.ishholmes.com

One response to Sunflower Man – Matt Miller

  1. 

    Matt, to say that you have always been drawing isn’t cliche, it is truth! From the time you could hold a crayon or pencil, you have drawn.

Leave a Reply

